How To Deactivate Facebook (Temporarily & Forever) #Facebook

By on February 18, 2014
how to deactivate facebook

Knowing how to deactivate Facebook may come in handy this year, as your small business consolidates its accounts, or focuses on another social platform. With Facebook conversion rates plummeting, and platforms like Pinterest and YouTube stepping up for local marketers, this could be your new social strategy.

With Facebook, you can choose to deactivate, delete or memorialize your accounts. Today I am walking you through all three basic processes.

I Want To Deactivate My Facebook Account

Deactivation on Facebook is a temporary action that removes your profile off the social network, and places it in a state of permanent stasis, until you may want to reactivate it again.

How to deactivate Facebook is easy enough – simply click on your gear icon at the top right of your screen while logged in > settings, then find the security tab. Click on the ‘deactivate my account’ option and it will happen instantly.

What happens? Your profile is removed off Facebook, so no-one can see it or engage with it anymore. Some posts on other people’s pages will still float around.

I Want To Permanently Delete My Facebook Account

If you are irritated with Facebook, or just want to start over with a new Facebook account, you can permanently delete your pages and profiles. Permanent means that once it has been deleted, your images, messages – everything that was on your Facebook page will be gone forever, so make sure you know that!

How to deactivate your Facebook account for a more permanent solution is a little different. You will have to personally email the Facebook admins and explain that you would like your account deleted.

Here is a shortcut to deletion!

What happens? Your profile and all of its contents will be permanently, irrevocably and entirely gone forever. Deleted from the internet.

how to deactivate facebook

Courtesy of newyorker.com

I Want To Memorialize a Facebook Page

If someone you know has passed on, and left behind a wealth of memories on their Facebook page, you have the option to memorialize it.

Friends and family will be able to engage on their page, but it will be locked down for security reasons. To memorialize a page, you will need to send the Facebook admins a direct request.

For quick memorialization click here!

What happens? The Facebook admins will not provide you with the details of someone’s personal account, so family members should memorialize the account as soon as possible to prevent security breaches. People can leave messages on the page but obviously no-one can post from the account anymore.

For shutting down your Facebook page, these are your three options. Knowing how to deactivate Facebook is critical if you are planning to revamp your pages, or leave the site altogether. Sometimes it pays to shift your resources from one platform to another, and Facebook has not been performing for local marketers lately.

My advice would be to split test the results you get on Pinterest, Google+ and Twitter and compare them with your Facebook conversions. If Facebook is not paying off for your small business, move on! Go where your fans engage the most.

Do you have any plans to abandon your Facebook strategy? Tell me why!

About John Souza

John Souza is founder and chief strategist of SMMU and Social Media Impact, and is a bestselling business author. He won the 2011 Tech Marketing Awards ‘Social Media Marketer of the Year’ and most recently the About.com Reader’s Choice Award for Best Online Education Site. John has appeared on The Michael Gerber Show, and his business has been honored at the Mashable Awards, Forbes Business Awards and The Stevie Awards.
Close

Like what you're reading?

Like us on Twitter, Facebook or Google+ for more!